For Fathers

With Father’s day approaching on Sunday, I felt it important to write a post for Fathers, fathers are often overlooked somewhat, with Mothers being far more celebrated, sometimes this is due to difficult circumstances, absent Fathers, split families etc, and I apologise to anyone reading this that finds Fathers day difficult for whatever reason.

In my family, my husband is so important in my children’s life, to them their Daddy is everything, their world, it was really great that this week my children’s school celebrated fathers with a father’s day lunch, My husband loves going into school whenever possible, it’s really hard for “family” men such as my husband when he is often not able to have time off work for the kids things at school such as Nativity play’s, special assemblies,parents evening’s and sport’s day’s even more tricky when we have three children and three of everything to attend, it was really special therefore for Adam to go into school for lunch,and spend some quality at school time with the children and they were so excited to show him everything. I love how caring and supportive my children’s school is of families. It is a fabulous school, and I feel very blessed that my children are there.

As a child of a split family myself, growing up, Fathers day and Mothers day were pretty big celebrations, I think because we didn’t spend every day with both of our parents, we would always go out for meals,and buy presents often for my Dad I would buy him a c.d, book,tie or aftershave, now I am grown up and have a family of my own we can’t always afford big meals out and big presents but I know my wonderful husband, and my fabulous Dad, Stepfather and Grandpa know how much they mean to me, and to my children, I would love to be able to buy them all expensive gifts, take them out for lavish meals but instead it will be handmade gifts and cards made and sent with love, breakfast in bed for my husband and a well deserved day of rest.

I am ever so blessed and grateful for the men in my family, for they are all so strong, supportive, caring, family men, that have always put their children first, no matter what, that do equal shares in housework and childcare, with love and care, and attentiveness. They have all supported me in my life no matter what, giving me great advice when needed, being there for me in good times and bad, and I love them with all my heart and I thank them for being them, I celebrate them this Sunday, and all great Fathers, Stepfathers,Grandfathers, whether near or far know that you are loved, and appreciated. ..Happy Fathers day.

I finish this post with a favourite poem about fathers..

“Walk a little slower Daddy” said a child so small”Im following in your footsteps and I don’t want to fall”..

“Sometimes your steps are very fast, sometimes they’re hard to see, so walk little slower Daddy for you are leading me”

“Someday when I am all grown up, you’re what I want to be, then I will have a little child, who will want to follow me, and I would want to lead just right, and know that I was true, so walk a little slower Daddy, for I must follow you”

Leave a Reply

